Google+
 
My least favorite part of summer is getting sunburned, and since I have a very fair complexiion that happens a quite a few times through out the season no matter how much sunblock I put on!

I found this recipe on another site and the lady used all organic items, and a cotton tea bag. I didn't have organic everything, a cotton tea bag or panty hoes (another site suggests cutting the toe out of panty hoes and tying them shut to help the water flow through better) I also doubled the recipe and converted teh meassurements into cups.
I have to give credit to the other site don't want to be accused of stealing: http://www.freshpickedbeauty.com/2011/12/baby-claires-soothing-lavender-oatmeal.html
Picture
What You'll Need:
  • 1 1/2c Quick Oats or Old Fashioned Oats
  • 1/2c Lavender
  • 1/2c Chamomile
  • a Ninja, bullet or other food processor.
  • a mason jar or storage container with lid
  • Wash cloth, cotton tea bag, or toe of a stocking.
  • Hair ties or string. 


Picture
1. Grind the oats into a fine powder then add in the lavender and chamomile grind again into a fine powder.





 *Caution: some people may be allergic to chamomile its part of the Asteraceae  family so be sure to check if your giving this as a gift*


Picture
2.Transfer into your container... I don't have a funnel so I rolled up a piece of paper it works just as well and everybody has paper laying around.


Picture
3. When you go to take a bath pour 1/4c of the mixture into the center of a wash cloth fold up the corners and twist slightly. Wrap a hair tye around the top to keep the oat mixture from spilling out but loosely enough to allow water to get it. If you wrap it too tight the water wont be able to get in and the center will still be dry.

I recommend using this about 2 days after your sunburn, when skin starts to get itchy. It will help soothe the itch, and surprisingly helps to prevent peeling. I've already used it twice and it's the best thing I've found to help lock in that sun kissed glow while helping to heal your skin from all those damaging rays! Enjoy!




Leave a Reply.


Google+